Guest Reviews: 2015


Cozy Spot!
— Wendy H., December 2015

"My husband and I stayed here three nights and had a lovely, relaxing time. The furnishings were comfortable and the place was spotless. Our weather was not very cooperative, so we took full advantage of the speedy internet, the Netflix access, and the Bose sound system. It was super easy to get into Eastsound from there. The kitchen had everything we needed for preparing meals. We liked having a door code instead of a key. Todd and Lori were very responsive to any questions we had before our stay and provided easily accessible and detailed information."

Review Source: VRBO

Exceptional attention to detail.
— Mitch & Julie S., December 2015

"Had a wonderful time on Orcas Island and used this location as our home base. Exceptional attention to detail. It was just my wife and myself and we highly recommend staying here. Conveniently located, quiet, at home feel, and overall comfort made our stay here a delight. Todd brought flowers to our door as we were celebrating our 20yr anni, which was a nice detail. Everything from the bluetooth shower to the fire pit and hot tub made it like home away from home."

Review Source: Google+

Truly an amazing place to stay
— David J., December 2015

"We had a wonderful stay on the island! The house was super cozy and had more than enough space. We're big on cooking in, and the kitchen was well stocked - we didn't need a thing. Additional touches and fast and clear communication made us feel right at home. Truly an amazing place to stay."

Review Source: Airbnb


...the check-in process was the most professional we’d ever seen on AirBnB.
— Emily S., November 2015

"We so enjoyed our stay on Orcas Island! Todd and Lori were great hosts. They were incredibly quick to respond to emails and questions and the website they created for the check-in process was the most professional we’d ever seen on AirBnB. They had great suggestions for restaurants and hikes in the area, which we took advantage of. The house was clean, quiet and in a great location. We didn’t get to take advantage of the hot tub this time around, but certainly will next time we visit!"

Review Source: Airbnb

...truly one of the best air bnb experiences we have had to date.
— Patrick N., November 2015

"The house we stayed in was very comfortable and welcoming. This is truly one of the best air bnb experiences we have had to date. My parents felt very comfortable and at home as well. Thanks!"

Review Source: Airbnb


The bar for what a great rental is is a little higher now!
— Angela W., October 2015

"We wanted a getaway before winter set in and this location,  and home, were perfect for our needs. The hosts were responsive yet respectful, the house was as described and very clean. And OMG the hot tub - I'm pretty sure my husband thought he'd have to pry me away from it! We never had to worry about our 4yo child getting hurt on anything, who also enjoyed the deep tub for bathtime! The location is very convenient to town yet quiet. We loved it and will definitely return the next time we want an island getaway. If you're looking for a home away from home, the value and owners are superb. The bar for what a great rental is is a little higher now!"

Review Source: VRBO

This rental provided everything we needed!
— Allison F., October 2015

"My fiancé and I chose Orcas Island for our mini-moon. This rental provided everything we needed! Peace and quiet, relaxation, comfort, and proximity to the main strip of Orcas Island. Todd & Lori were extremely helpful in answering questions, providing details, and their welcome email/handbook answered all of our remaining questions! The home is so cozy and comfortable! We even walked the mile into the main area of Orcas (though I would recommend returning before it gets dark out for the lack of street lights on the Island). Todd & Lori made us feel very welcome in their home, beginning with the first email. Thank you for a wonderful long weekend!"

Review Source: VRBO

...wonderful long weekend enjoying Orcas Island.
— Anna G., October, 2015

"We had a wonderful long weekend enjoying Orcas Island. One of the best parts of our days was returning to this comfortable home. We spend many nights enjoying the hot tub or relaxing in the living room. We didn't cook, but the kitchen has everyone one might need. The home is just as the pictures show, well appointed and very clean. The communication with the owners is wonderful, and full of great details. Thank you Todd and Lori we had a terrific time."

Review Source: VRBO

Amazing place with everything you need
— Jennifer P., October 2015

"This house was very comfortable a decorated very nicely. We cooked our own meals and it had everything we needed. We were there in October and I was there just with my husband. It would be great to be there with a family or another couple. We used the hot tub, but not the fire pit. It's a very nice property. The owner has a very organized online welcome packet and instructions for the equipment in the home. Would definitely go back."

Review Source: Trip Advisor

...the whole experience was very seamless...
— Jason H., October 2015

"Host was awesome, the whole experience is very seamlessly provided internally, great explanations of the amenities. Really fun location near Moran state park and Eastsound."

Review Source: Airbnb


Amazing getaway
— Kelly T., September 2015

"The house was everything we expected and more. We immediately felt at home and didn't want to leave! I honestly can't think of anything I would change! We cooked the whole time we were there and the kitchen was extremely well stocked. The welcome email was also extremely well laid out and helpful. We are definitely planning on making this a yearly trip. Thanks so much Todd and Lori for making our dream vacation possible!"

Review Source: VRBO is everything it was promised to be.
— Nat C., September 2015

"We really enjoyed Orcas Island Getaway and it is everything it was promised to be. It is in a great location, the furnishings were comfortable - we might want to buy a similar mattress for our home; the kitchen was well stocked and very modern; the baths were fantastic and the hot tub put the icing on the cake. The information Todd and Lori provided was very helpful as were they in all our communications. The house was very clean, easy to use and would be a place we would enjoy on a future visit to Orcas."

Review Source: VRBO

The home met and exceeded expectations.
— Maura R., September 2015

"The home met and exceeded expectations. From the very well appointed kitchen to the dog friendly accommodations...all in a great made for an extremely comfortable stay."

Review Source: Airbnb

Highly recommended !!
— Olivier S., September 2015

"The house is very well furnished with everything you need for a getaway trip, but with its own cosy atmosphere. It was super clean when we arrived and ready even earlier the check-in time. Each bedroom has its own bathroom which offers some intimacy when you're out there with friends. Todd & Lori have been very helpful to prep our trip and very responsive to any inquiries. Highly recommended !!" 

Review Source: VRBO


...our stay in Todd & Lori’s home made it perfect
— Chris W., August, 2015

"This was our first trip to Orcas and our stay in Todd and Lori's home made it perfect. Todd was thorough and quick to respond to any inquiries made prior to the trip. The home was impeccably cleaned and every little detail was attended to. One can tell this house is their pride and joy. The house was a close drive to Moran State Park, where we spent the majority of our time. As the Island Market is quite close, I'd highly suggest checking out the kitchen at the house before hitting the market, as the kitchen is STOCKED with many items. Trust me on this."

Review Source: VRBO of the best vacation homes I have stayed in.
— Coast Traveler, August 2015

"Orcas Island Getaway was one of the best vacation homes I have stayed in. The home is well thought out for what you need on vacation and has helpful friendly signs and labels so you aren't frustrated wondering how to use the appliances. They also have hair dryers in the bathroom which I love! I hate it when I get to a vacation home and they don't have one! The layout is great, the two bedrooms are at opposite sides of the house with a bathroom by each one and the nook can be used with an air mattress for an extra guest or kids. The back deck and fire ring were our favorite places to hang out. With the perfect summer temperature and no bugs, we enjoyed the grill nearly every night! The kitchen is very well stocked and easy to use! It is also an open layout so you can be cooking and chatting with people in the living room or on the deck. The owners are very nice and quite helpful as well. They sent out reminders about the change to the ferry system, sent ideas for preparation and had everything we needed to know in advance! We didn't bring our dog but it was well stocked for dog!"

Review Source: VRBO

JULY 2015

This was our 5th trip to the San Juan Islands and without a doubt this was the best place we have stayed so far.
— Barbara D., July 2015

"This was our 5th trip to the San Juan Islands and without a doubt this was the best place we have stayed so far. Very comfortable home with all the amenities you would want. We particularly enjoyed the outdoor fire pit - perfect spot for relaxing at the end of the day. My husband loved having wifi available and a big screen TV."

Review Source: VRBO

...this was a great choice!
— Jayne F., July 2015

"We were looking for a spot with two bedrooms and baths and this was a great choice! Close to Moran State Park and the town. Private yard. Bedrooms on opposite sides of the house. Well stocked kitchen. And a big screen TV. Can't ask for much more."

Review Source: VRBO

Great stay!
— Angela D., July 2015

"We had a great stay, loved the amenities, the location and most of all, the trees. Todd was great to work with and his rate for the home is very competitive. He was very responsive and super helpful. I reached out to him a couple of times for questions and tips and he always was there for feedback. The kitchen is very well stocked and we enjoyed the stereo system. We cooked some clams and shucked some oysters we picked up on the island and had a great evening in the backyard beneath the trees and enjoyed the hot tub. While there is no water view, the location is perfect being close to town and the park. The cedar and fir trees were just as awesome as having a water view. While there are a few houses nearby, you feel very secluded in your surroundings. We also really loved the bed. We have a foam bed as well and I think it was the first time we traveled where we were able to say we loved the bed as much as ours. The last thing I'd add is the house is super pet friendly with a dog run, water bowls and dog towels provided. However, you don't get sense there have been dogs in the house - it's super clean and no pet odors. I would have loved to have brought my dog!"

Review Source: VRBO

Made memories to last a lifetime.
— Jennifer C., July 2015

"We've had a fabulous week here! Made memories to last a lifetime. Great place to visit with kids & close to everything you might want to see. Thanks so much for sharing your home!"

Review Source: Facebook

JUNE 2015

Perfect Getaway
— Jennifer U., June 2015

"Orcas Island Getaway was exactly what we needed for our vacation home. The house is surrounded by trees with a lovely backyard. We took advantage of the hot tub every day and had a delightful fire in the firepit. The home itself is well appointed and comfortable. It has two bedrooms with nice beds- king in the master slept just great. It was so nice having a washer and dryer to do some laundry and Todd and Lori even provided detergent! The kitchen was stocked with plenty of dishes so we could cook at home and they had a nice array of spices too. Todd and Lori created a very useful web page and home guide loaded with information about the property and the island. We appreciated their suggests for hikes at Moran State Park. They were very professional and prompt. I enjoyed having the key code entry. It made arrival and departure very simple. And I didn't have to keep up with a key! We recommend it highly and would stay there again."

Review Source: VRBO

It was super...
— Traveler, June 2015

"Before going to Orcas, Friday Harbor was synonymous with the San Juan Islands. However, Orcas has risen in my estimate, greatly due to this accommodation. It was super; we so much enjoyed the VRBO. We took advantage of the grounds, the furnishings, the fully-stocked condiments, the space for six people to be together or to have privacy. Location is ideal; close distance to Moran park; walking distance into town. One afternoon we had a yummy lunch at the Rosario Resort and were glad to return to our home-away-from-home."

Review Source: VRBO

Clean and delightful with everything we needed.
— Amy S. June 2015

"This place was great. Clean and delightful with everything we needed. Close to town. Relaxing back yard and hot tub. The owners gave us all the information and then some to make arriving and leaving easy. The island is wonderful as was Eastsound. We would stay here again."

Review Source: Airbnb

This place was great.
— Diana B., June 1015

"This place was great. Close to eastbound, close to mount constitution, close to beaches. Lovely home, exactly as advertised. The rental experience was so easy that it made the whole experience very enjoyable."

Review Source: VRBO

Super comfortable!
— David H., June 2015

"We had a very relaxing stay in this well appointed and very clean home. Todd was a pleasure to work with and was very attentive before and after our stay. I highly recommend this spot for any one."

Review Source: VRBO

We had a wonderful time...a beautiful place.
— Bonnie S., June 2015

"We had such a wonderful time staying on Orcas Island.... absolutely beautiful place!! We enjoyed Moran State Park and did a 6 mile hike down to the 3 waterfalls and around Cascade Lake... beautiful scenery and our kids ages 6 and 8 did great. We also did a whale watch charter one afternoon and spent 2 1/2 hours alongside a transient orca pod.... absolutely incredible!!! That was a BIG highlight of our trip! We went up to Mt. Constitution and the views are magnificent and the castle tower on top was really neat. We spent time on Crescent Beach collecting the many seashells and down at the beach in Eastsound where the kids even got in on a science study on clams that happens once a year. They got to dig up clams and help chart their different species and ages.... very cool! We walked out to Indian Island from Eastsound at low tide where we saw lots of starfish and crabs. We also took a day trip over to San Juan Island and enjoyed Friday Harbor and rented moped scoutcars to tour around the island. We enjoyed the Madrona Bar and Grille on the water with a wonderful deck, Majitas Mexican, the Skillet for breakfast and Hogstones... all great meals. We even went up to Buck Bay Seafood Farm to pick up some fresh oysters and prawns one evening that were fantastic!

As for the home and Todd and Lori the owners...... everything couldn't have gone smoother!! Todd was fantastic with very prompt responses to every question we had! They had great recommendations on things to be sure to do while planning our trip and made us feel so comfortable upon our arrival. The house was great..... VERY nicely furnished and decorated. It was perfect for our family of 4. The property was great with a lovely wooded setting in back with the hot tub, deck and firepit... felt very private even though there were other neighbors nearby. It was conveniently located to Eastsound and Moran State Park which were the areas we spent most of our time. I really debated on where to stay when we booked and was going back and forth between a waterfront/view home and this one. We chose this one because it looked quite nice and was a little more affordable. I am glad we did but honestly next time we come to Orcas we will probably splurge for the view home. We would've probably spent even more time at the home if we did have a view. But with that said, the trip couldn't have gone much better and we would highly recommend Orcas Island Getaway.... great place!!!! Thank you!!"

Review Source: VRBO

MAY 2015

All of the girls loved this place... planning another trip here in the future.
— Nikki M., May 2015

"We had a girls weekend here last weekend and had the best time!!
The house is real quite close to everything, there's a gas station convenience store within walking distance that has a lot of stuff and just a bit further from that is the water with a small beach with gorgeous views. It's also really close to the town. 
The house itself was great!! I loved all the little touches like the tiling in the shower and the decor is so beautiful.  It was very clean and it was like they had thought of everything we would need in the kitchen (gotta have that blender to make girls weekend margaritas) 
The house was really clean and there were plenty of towels for all 6 of us.  We definitely enjoyed the hot tub after a long day of hiking and kayaking in the sound. 
The whole process of booking, checking in and checking out was so smooth!! Todd sent me a personalized login for their website where I had access to everything I needed including awesome touches like ideas on where to eat and hike.  He had a great book put together to walk us through everything we needed to do at the end of the trip.  He also checked in with me during the trip to make sure all was going smoothly.  Great customer service!!
All of the girls loved this place and we will definitely be planning another trip here in the future!"

Review Source: Yelp

I would definitely recommend this property.
— Greg F., May 2016

"We had a great stay at Todd and Lori's house, close to Eastsound. The house and amenities are very modern and everything is clean and comfortable with clear instructions on how to use everything. Plenty of space for two families with small kids and all on one floor which really helped. The location is perfect to explore the island and is a short drive to Eastsound. It doesn't have the greatest view and is in close proximity to other properties but this is made up for in the care and attention to the lovely garden, great hot tub and deck to relax on. The service from the owners was also first class. As a base to explore Orcas island for a couple or small group, I would definitely recommend this property."

Review Source: VRBO

...such an amazing time.
— Darci S., May 2015

"I recently stayed at Orcas Island Getaway over the memorial holiday weekend. My family and I had such an amazing time. We were impressed the moment we walked in with how clean the house was. The home is decorated so cute and is updated. It felt like a home away from home, except the showers at this house are way better than mine! I am impressed with the fine touches the owner has provided to help make our stay comfortable and special. This house is in the East sound area and makes it really easy to go for a hike, kayaking explore Moran State park or walk to the local market. I really enjoyed the hot tub on the property. After long active days it was so relaxing to come back and enjoy this feature. This is definitely a home I will want to come back to every year." 

Review Source: Facebook

Love this place!
— Chelsee B., May 2015

"This place was fantastic. Way more private than a hotel. The house was beautiful, beds were comfortable and the hosts were more than accomadating. Any dishes you might need, chilled glasses, fluffy towels and plenty of pantry staples. The master bath has a bluetooth showerhead speaker and that made it so much easier to get up and get going in the morning (not to mention the espresso maker) Todd was great about getting back to me about any questions and even recommended a great restaurant for our anniversary. They also had a great welcome book with plenty of pamphlets for activities and instructions for everything in the home. Really close to everything without being in the middle if town. Love this place!"

Review Source: Facebook

APRIL 2015

...loved this home!
— Liz A., April 2015

"We loved our couple of days on Orcas, and loved this home! The hot tub was amazing, the bathrooms devine, the kitchen and living space were perfect. Really couldn't have asked for anything more. Modern, clean, roomy, and so convenient to town."

Review Source: VRBO

The house is fabulous...
— Jessica G., April 2015

"Todd was very communicative and clear about expectations and amenities which I always appreciate! The house is fabulous and VERY dog friendly! My [brand new] husband and I didn't bring our pooch this time around, but would love to return with her. It was a perfect, private getaway for us after our wedding! The hot tub was perfect for soothing our tired feet after all that dancing. Highly recommended! "

Review Source: Airbnb

Simply amazing!
— Michael Z, April 2015

"This house is amazing. It is completely updated with all the amenities you need to enjoy a spectacular and relaxing trip to Orcas Island. It is in a nice wooded location within a mile from town, close to the beach and right next door to a convenience store. Our favorite part? Finding chilled glasses in the freezer and growlers to bring back some brew from the local Island Hoppin Brewery (highly recommended) to enjoy. This is an example of how the owner has gone out of his way to make your stay memorable. I will definitely stay here again when I return to Orcas, but I have a feeling I will have to book several months to a year in advance once word gets out about this place." 

Review Source: VRBO

Great Stay!
— Kaci S., April 2015

"My husband, baby, dog and I stayed here for 4 nights and had a great time. The house was just as promised, very clean with lots of amenities to make our stay comfortable. Close to Eastsound and a great jumping-off point for adventures all around the island."

Review Source: VRBO

MARCH 2015

Highly recommended.
— Kara C., March 2015

"Todd was extremely helpful before we arrived. The home was perfectly situated just a few minutes from Moran state park, beaches and the downtown village. There was plenty of information about things to do around Orcas Island when we arrived. The home was very clean and was the perfect fit for a relaxing weekend! We had a wonderful time - hiking in to Mt. Constitution, relaxing in the hot tub, cooking dinner and cozy-ing up by the fireplace. We would highly recommend staying at the Doyle's!"

Review Source: Airbnb

Comfort & Quality on Orcas
— Oregon Travelers, March 2015

"My wife and I stayed here for our anniversary weekend and really loved it. It is a very clean and nice home with everything you need and more. We especially loved the hot tub and the fact that the property was on a private plot of land surrounded by trees and a garden. It is obvious that the owners take really good care of this property and invest in quality furnishings. They were extremely helpful and friendly during the booking and planning process as well. The proximity to attractions on the island is great. Especially for the bars and restaurants in East Sound. Highly suggested and we hope to return again!"

Review Source: VRBO

...everything we hoped for.
— Sale' S., March 2015

"My girlfriend and I found it on VRBO and selected the house because it was close to East Sound and it was pet friendly. We were delighted to find the house was everything we hoped for. The house was very well decorated the owners had thought of everything. The owner was very professional and answered all my questions very quickly. The house was very clean and well presented. The entertainment amenities were amazing great quality. I would recommend this place to friends and family! We will be staying next time we're on the island."

Review Source: VRBO

Great place to stay.
— Seattleite family, March 2015

"A wonderful place to stay as a get-a-way for a few days. Very relaxing environment, and an absolutely gorgeous house. Everything is very clean, and works great. Very close to the town, lots of restaurants and amazing nature. The direction given for different items (hot tub, wifi, etc) are all extremely clean and easy to understand. The communication between the owners is quick, efficient and easy. They were extremely helpful with any questions we had, and respond quickly. Overall, would recommend to anyone. This place is wonderful to relax and enjoy a few days with loved ones."

Review Source: VRBO

4-Star Reviews

July Orcas Weekend
— John W., July 2016

"My family of 4 stayed here for a wedding in July. Cute, clean and cozy little home close to Eastsound. Obvious attention to detail to make this home a wonderful place to stay. Convenient access to town and Moran state park. Hot tub was a nice little addition as was the speaker in the master bath shower! Quiet neighborhood. Would have given 5 stars, but air mattress for 4th person (teenage boys don't like to share a bed) deflated every night. Thanks for a pleasant stay."

Rating: 4-Stars
Review Source: VRBO

Our thanks for your feedback:

"John, thanks for taking the time to share your experience. While the overall stay sounds like it was great, we certainly missed the mark in having a malfunctioning air mattress (please pass our apologies to your teenage son!) We only wished you would have reached out to us after the first night instead of finding out after your stay was completed as a replacement could have been brought over right away. :( - Thanks again for staying, and letting us know so we can get it replaced. Best, Todd & Lori"